VTURCS Spring Symposium 2006

The Spring Research Symposium 2006 took place on April 21 with 18 participants presenting 12 different projects. Department Head Dr. Dennis Kafura and faculty members Alexey Onufriev and Dwight Barnette selected the Faculty Choice winners, who received cash prizes. Representatives from the department's Computer Science Resources Consortium (CSRC) were present--including representatives from Microsoft, IBM, Vangard, Meridium and Lockheed Martin-- and helped us select the winners of the Industry Choice awards. The symposium attendees selected the People's Choice Award winners, who received their choice of software prizes.

Faculty Choice Awards

  1. First Place ($200): Ultra High-Definition Gaming
    Sabri, Andrew (plastk@vt.edu)
    Advisor: North, Chris (north@cs.vt.edu)
  2. Second Place ($100): minimUML - A Minimalist Approach to UML diagrams
    Garcia Ramirez, Jaime (jgarciar@vt.edu)
    Advisors: Pérez Quiñones, Manuel A (perez@vt.edu), Edwards, Stephen (edwards@cs.vt.edu), Turner, Scott (scturner@vt.edu)
  3. Third Place (tie, $50 each student): SeeVT-ART: Opportunistic Navigation and Multimodal Interfaces
    Hood, Ben (bhood@vt.edu)
    Kelly, Scott (smkelly@vt.edu)
    Advisor: McCrickard, Scott (mccricks@cs.vt.edu)

    Alternative Input Devices Using Motion Capture Systems Witherspoon, Matt (spoon@vt.edu)
    North, Chris (north@vt.edu)

Industry Choice Awards

  1. First Place: VTAssist - A Collaborative Social Effort to Assist People on Wheelchairs through Notifications
    Bhatia, Sarav (saravb@vt.edu)
    Rinehart, Spencer (anubis@vt.edu)
    Advisor: McCrickard, Scott (mccricks@vt.edu)
  2. Second Place: Ultra High-Definition Gaming
    Sabri, Andrew (plastk@vt.edu)
    Advisor: North, Chris (north@cs.vt.edu)
  3. Third Place: Large Screen Public Kiosk
    Sawyer, Blake (basawyer@vt.edu)
    Ziray, Michael (mziray@vt.edu)
    Advisor: Pérez-Quiñones, Manuel (perez@cs.vt.edu)

People's Choice Awards

  1. First Place: VTAssist - A Collaborative Social Effort to Assist People on Wheelchairs through Notifications
    Bhatia, Sarav (saravb@vt.edu)
    Rinehart, Spencer (anubis@vt.edu)
    Advisor: McCrickard, Scott (mccricks@vt.edu)
  2. Second Place: SeeVT-ART: Opportunistic Navigation and Multimodal Interfaces
    Hood, Ben (bhood@vt.edu)
    Kelly, Scott (smkelly@vt.edu)
    Advisor: McCrickard, Scott (mccricks@cs.vt.edu)
  3. Third Place: Ultra High-Definition Gaming
    Sabri, Andrew (plastk@vt.edu)
    Advisor: North, Chris (north@cs.vt.edu)

Images From the Fair :

Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail

Spring Symposium Directory: